USART Code-snippets

This forum is about you. Feel free to discuss anything is related to embedded and electronics, your awesome projects, your ideas, your announcements, not necessarily related to ChibiOS but to embedded in general. This forum is NOT for support.
PavloT

USART Code-snippets

Postby PavloT » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:29 pm

ChibiOS is a new platform for me, so while I'm studying it I'd like to make some notes about it usecases.
First problem I faced: there is no clean examples on USART usage, so here is my assumptions.
The easiest way to start with it - use SerialDriver. Each platform has it's own implementation for it with default settings.
E.g. os/hal/platforms/STM32/serial_lld.c
Each USART channel available as SDx object.
To use it you need to enable it in the halconf.h

Code: Select all

#if !defined(HAL_USE_SERIAL) || defined(__DOXYGEN__)
#define HAL_USE_SERIAL              TRUE
#endif

After this it can be used in the main thread (this example is a simple echo):

/*
   * Activates the serial driver 1 using the driver default configuration.
   */
  sdStart(&SD1, NULL);

u8 i = 0;
  while (TRUE) {
      i = chIOGet(&SD1);
      if(i!=0)
        chIOPut(&SD1, i);
  }

This is the most basic example, but now I have some questions:
1. What pitfalls we have here?
2. How multithreading and blocking works? I mean what user must expect when working with USART over SerialDriver objects.
3. Also I propose to discuss about lowlevel USART objects, when they should be used?

Giovanni
Site Admin

Re: USART Code-snippets

Postby Giovanni » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:40 pm

Few more notes:
- In mcuconf.h you can individually enable and disable the single USARTs, this way you can save space disabling those you don't need.
- The driver implements circular buffers so you the timing of reads/writes is often not critical.

Try to answer to your question #2, it involves an important mechanism in ChibiOS.

Giovanni

PavloT

Postby PavloT » Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:11 pm