Using float optional

Discussions and support about ChibiOS/EX, the External Peripherals Abstraction Layer.
vrollei
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:44 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Using float optional

Postby vrollei » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:54 pm

Hi,

it would be great to have configuration macro to enable/disable using float arithmetic in base driver's interfaces (BaseSensor and so on) to use EX on small processors with NIL.
Vitaly

User avatar
RoccoMarco
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:11 pm
Location: Salerno (Italy)
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Using float optional

Postby RoccoMarco » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:57 pm

Hello there.
I totally missed this post. I'll think about it. The point is that without floating point the whole concept of cooked data would became meaningless.
Ciao,
RM

vrollei
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:44 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Using float optional

Postby vrollei » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:03 pm

Hi,

we can have integer cooked data and optional float cooked data.
Vitaly

User avatar
RoccoMarco
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:11 pm
Location: Salerno (Italy)
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Using float optional

Postby RoccoMarco » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:10 pm

Does it mean we should implement fixed point algebra? I am not so convinced about that.
Ciao,
RM

vrollei
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:44 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Using float optional

Postby vrollei » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:18 pm

At least not use float in raw functions, in this case cooked and float will not be linked
Vitaly

User avatar
RoccoMarco
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:11 pm
Location: Salerno (Italy)
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Using float optional

Postby RoccoMarco » Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:21 pm

As far as I know float is not used in raw functions...
Do you have seen float in some getRaw?
Ciao,
RM


Return to “ChibiOS/EX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest